Layout of Upsell Product

Issues to do with installing and configurating Norcat.
Post Reply
Marianna

Layout of Upsell Product

Post by Marianna » Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:19 pm

Hi Norman

It's me again.... we have put in the relevant text into the t2t notes field for the upsell products and it works fine. We just have couple of questions:
Would it be possible if the upsell product be next to the actual product on the right hand side?
Can the description in the notes be on top of the product image?
We have got the two currencies at the moment for the products, would it be possible for upsell product to show the Euro price aswell?

Kind Regards

Marianna

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:16 pm

The upsell items (Components actually) are placed in the product description where you put the {+.....+} stuff. This allows you to have relevant text around these items if you choose.

The product description can be to the right, above, or below the colour size matrix (via Config / Advanced / Tables / TextPos). I reminded you of this only yesterday!

The description (and any included components / upsells) and colour / size matrix are all part of NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION and are thus placed together on the page.

You can thus place NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTIMAGE and NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION in separate places but you cannot wrap bits of NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION (which contains several things) around the image easily.
Norman

Marianna

Post by Marianna » Thu Apr 21, 2005 2:28 pm

I did place the text on Top in Norcat and it was placed on top of the size matrix put not on above of the image.

Thanks for everything

Marianna

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:13 pm

would it be possible for upsell product to show the Euro price as well?
Not possible, sorry. You'd have to include it in the upsell text and keep track of exchange rates.

PS there's an add-on NorPrice that hides the second currency until the customer chooses it from one of many different rates. See http://www.snowlines.co.uk for a live example. This still wouldn't fix the component prices, however.
Norman

Marianna

Post by Marianna » Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:00 pm

Hi Norman
I am working the So-Shei emommerce site at the moment and I am using the upsell products, which is working ok. However I was wondering if a few changes could be made within the product description layout.
Would it be possible if the description that's in the notes field appear above the actual product image? Also would it be possible to move the size/colour matrix below the product image too? At the moment the notes description is above the upsell product and the size/colour matrix is below. e.g. http://ftp.so-shei.com/shop/acatalog/On ... RWIRE.html

Is there a way that I can change the colour of the upsell product box aswell?

Thanks

Marianna

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:13 pm

As mentioned before there's only one variable NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION big enough for all the Notes generated data (including upsell componenets) and the Buy Matrix to fit into. This is what's making a layout like you desire nearly impossible.

See http://drillpine.biz/forums/viewtopic.php?t=64 for a more detailed explanation.

It MAY be possible to tweak the existing system using CSS positioning. I'm not a CSS expert, but will be happy to talk to anyone you can find.

As to the upsell component background - that's dealt with in Norcat / Config / Advanced / Components - Simple components / StartCompTableStart and also in Component Tables / CompTableStart and Suffix.

You can alter the position of the upsell items with respect to the Notes description by putting them at either the beginning, end, or even in the middle of the Notes field (some notes will appear above and some below the upsells).

You may also want to consider doing away with the rightmost column and moving that lot to the left hand side (or title bar) to buy some extra screen space. If you've decided on a layout that only fits to 1024 wide monitors then you can increase the width of the product lines to use that extra space.

You can also change the scale down factor for those component images and make them smaller via Norcat / Config / Advanced / Components - ScaleBy.

Finally, you're not using colourway images. If you make up some tiny images (say 75 - 100 pixels wide) for each colourway and save these using the 1st 9 digits of the product barcode, then they will replace the "BLACK A", "BLACK B" info that's currently on these pages. Much more useful for the customers.
Norman

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Mon Apr 25, 2005 2:40 pm

I'm not seeing the Add to cart buttons on the So-Shei pages.

It looks like you've not uploaded Add.gif (via Actinic / Advanced / Additional Files) you should keep an identical copy of this image in Site1 and also PreviewHTML - use the Site1 one for the upload.

You also seem to have some JavaScript errors. You have some of my Product in Columns code (perhaps redundant from some earlier layout and now erronously in there), that requires setting an Actinic Custom Property.

Any Custom Properties you define and set in Actinic will get lost when you next import the Norcat data.

The way to set such properties is to define them in Norcat. You do this in Norcat / Config / Advanced / CustomVars / User Defined. If you want a Property called NUMCOLS set to 1 then simply add the line

Code: Select all

NUMCOLS 1
in there. You'll need to be running an up-to-date copy of Norcat for this to work.

UPDATE - User Defined custom properties are only in the soon to be released (if I ever find time) Norcat V4. However you can emulate them in Norcat V3 by borrowing a fixed-name property e.g. NORCAT1 and setting its Default to the value required and ticking Generate. Then use NORCAT1 instead of NUMCOLS in the patch.
Norman

Marianna

Post by Marianna » Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:01 pm

Hi Norman

Thanks for that I will make the neccesary changes. I have fixed the script errors, but my add to cart button still isn't uploading. From the beginning I put the button in the Site1, PreviewHTML folder, the additional files in Actinic and made sure it is the same as the add button in the Norcat graphics folder, I upload the site and still no add to cart button. I also have made sure all settings are correct. I have ask Actinic Support and they said it uploads to thier server so they couldn't really help. The thing is when I preview the site it shows.....

I will refresh again and hopefully it apperars...

Kind Regards

Marianna

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:17 pm

That Add.gif is a capitalisation problem. You've called it add.gif not Add.gif which Windows systems ignore but proper (Unix) computers find significant.

In Site1 and Preview HTML rename it to "Add.gif" - use an Uppercase A. Now go to Advanced / Additional Files, delete and re-select Add.gif and all will be well. You won't need a refresh - just an Update.
Norman

Marianna

Post by Marianna » Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:55 am

Thank you....

Marianna

Post Reply