Problem!!!

Post Reply
Lounge2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:03 pm

Problem!!!

Post by Lounge2 » Thu May 26, 2016 6:44 pm

Hi Norman,
I am using v16 sellerdeck with your tabber inserted (great product) is it possible to
only have a certain tab ie Product info to be indexed while using mole end google product mash as it puts all of the full description into the feed ie any other tabs that have info in my site is http://www.headboardsuk.co.uk as you see on a product there are between 1-4 tabs all i want in the google feed is the text in the info tab and not any other text is this possible if so how if not any ideas ?
regards
Mike

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Problem!!!

Post by norman » Fri May 27, 2016 3:48 am

I had to read that massive single sentence (101 words!!!) several times before I determined what you want.

After my head stopped hurting, I think that you want only part of your Product Description to be sent to Mole End's Google Product Mash.

So it's really a Mole End solution that you need. Have you already asked them? And if so, what was their response?

I can perhaps suggest alternative ways of doing this via Tabber but I'm confused as to the version of SellerDeck and Tabber you're using. You are posting in the Tabber V5 topic and you mention a SellerDeck 2016 site but your link is to a SellerDeck 2014 site using Tabber V4. I don't want to waste my time working out something for the wrong version.
Norman

Lounge2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Problem!!!

Post by Lounge2 » Fri May 27, 2016 9:47 am

Hi Norman,
thanks for your reply.
I am on Version 16.0.1 QCHB sellerdeck and using V506-U1-1-10-1-1401 (1) tabber.
Its a new updated site, I just gave you the Headboards link to show the tabs,
This is a product page of the updated site that i would like the help with if it is possible. Link of typical product below.
http://www.bedframesuk.co.uk/acatalog/t ... ngle_.html
I did put the question to Jan at mole end and replied with the below answer.
"The only way to do this would be to create a new user defined variable in Sellerdeck that contains the text you do want included in the description and then setting the program to use that rather than the actual description."
Which i have tried to implement but is to much for me to understand so i wondered if you had come across this before.
Sorry about the bad grammar.
Thank you again
Mike

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Problem!!!

Post by norman » Fri May 27, 2016 11:08 am

Ahah. Now I see a Tabber V5 site on SellerDeck 2016. Please copy / paste the Product Layout code that you are using into a reply here so I can see how you've implemented Tabber.
Norman

Lounge2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Problem!!!

Post by Lounge2 » Fri May 27, 2016 11:50 am

Hi Norman,

Thanks for the response.
not sure if this is right?
Using Regular Product Summary
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsFilteringEnabled%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22MatchLayouts%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20True%20AND%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Section%22%29%20AND%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsProductPageGenerated%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20True" >
<actinic:variable name="FilteredProductLayout" />
</actinic:block>

<actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsFilteringEnabled%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22MatchLayouts%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20False%29%20OR%20%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsFilteringEnabled%22%20%2f%3e%20%20%3d%3d%20False%20OR%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Product%20Page%22%29%20OR%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsProductPageGenerated%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20False" >

<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsProductFormUsed%22%20%2f%3e" >

<form method="post" class="regularProductSummary" action="<actinic:variable name="OnlineScriptURL" value="Shopping Cart Script URL" />" novalidate>
<input type="hidden" name="SID" value="<actinic:variable name="SectionID" />" />
<input type="hidden" name="PAGE" value="PRODUCT" />
<actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Section%22%29" >
<input type="hidden" name="PAGEFILENAME" value="<actinic:variable name="SectionPageName" />" />
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Product%20Page%22%29" >
<input type="hidden" name="PAGEFILENAME" value="<actinic:variable name="ProductPageName" />" />
</actinic:block>
<Actinic:SECTION BLOB='<actinic:variable name="SectionCatFile" />'/>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e" >
<!-- Hidden field when in trial mode -->
<input type="hidden" name="SHOP" value="<actinic:variable name="HiddenFields" />" />
</actinic:block>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductImageFileName%22%20%2f%3e%20%21%3d%20%22%22" >
<p class="product-image set-left"><actinic:variable name="ProductImageLayout" value="Small Product Image" /></p>
</actinic:block>
<a name="<actinic:variable name="EncodedProductAnchor" />"></a>

<actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Section%22%29%20AND%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductListNameLink%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%201%29" ><a href="<actinic:variable name="ProductPageName" />#SID=<actinic:variable name="SectionID" />">
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Section%22%20AND%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductListNameLink%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%202%29" >
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ExtendedInformationType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Opens%20in%20a%20Pop%2dUp%20Window%22" >
<a href="<actinic:variable name="ExtendedInfoPageEncoded" />" target="ActPopup" onclick="return ShowPopUp('<actinic:variable name="ExtendedInfoPageEncoded" />',<actinic:variable name="ExtInfoWindowWidth" />,<actinic:variable name="ExtInfoWindowHeight" />);">
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ExtendedInformationType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Opens%20in%20the%20Same%20Window%22" >
<a href="<actinic:variable name="ExtendedInfoPageName" />">
</actinic:block>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:variable formatting="h2" encoding="actinic" name="ProductName" />
<actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PageType%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20%22Section%22%29%20AND%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductListNameLink%22%20%2f%3e%20%3e%200%29" >
</a>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20true%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductComponentCount%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%200" >
<actinic:variable name="ProductJavascriptLayout" />
</actinic:block>
<actinic:variable name="CartError" />
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22PriceIsEnabled%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="product-price">
<Actinic:PRICES PROD_REF="<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" RETAIL_PRICE_PROMPT="<actinic:variable name="ProductPriceDescription" />">
<actinic:variable name="PriceListRetail" />
</Actinic:PRICES>
<actinic:variable name="DynamicPrice" />
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductPriceIsEnabled%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20False" >
<p class="product-price">
<Actinic:NOTINB2B><br><actinic:variable name="ProductPriceNotEnabledMessage" /></Actinic:NOTINB2B>
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsCustomerMessageUsed%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="product-price">
<Actinic:PRICE_EXPLANATION PROD_REF="<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" COMPONENTID=-1><actinic:variable name="RetailCustomerMessage" /></Actinic:PRICE_EXPLANATION>
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsProductReferenceVisible%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="product-text">Ref: <actinic:variable name="ProductReference" /></p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsQuantityPromptShown%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%20%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsOutOfStockShown%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%29%20AND%20%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsCatalogSuspendedShown%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%29" >
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22CartButtonVisibleToAllCustomers%22%20%2f%3e" >
<fieldset class="quantity-box">
<!-- This code is used when the quantity box is visible to all customers -->
<label><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="QuantityPrompt" /></span></label>
<input type="number" name="Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" size="4" value="<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />" class="form_input_general" <actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >onpaste="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)" onkeyup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)" onmouseup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)"</actinic:block><actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >onpaste="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')" onkeyup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')" onmouseup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')"</actinic:block>/>
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22EnabledForCustomerGroupID%22%20%2f%3e%20%21%3d%20%22%22" >
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductPriceIsEnabled%22%20%2f%3e" >
<fieldset class="quantity-box">
<!-- This code is used when the quantity box is visible to retail customers, but not all other customer groups -->
<Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule Schedules="<actinic:variable name="EnabledForCustomerGroupID" />">
<label><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="QuantityPrompt" /></span></label>
<input type="number" name="Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" size="4" value="<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />" class="form_input_general" <actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >onpaste="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)" onkeyup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)" onmouseup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)"</actinic:block><actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >onpaste="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')" onkeyup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')" onmouseup="QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')"</actinic:block>/>
</Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule>
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductPriceIsEnabled%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >
<fieldset class="quantity-box">
<!-- This code is used when the quantity box needs to hidden from retail customers -->
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%20OR%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE" >
<Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule Schedules="<actinic:variable name="EnabledForCustomerGroupID" />" HTML="<label><span class='actrequired'><actinic:variable name="QuantityPrompt" /></span></label><input type='number' name='Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />' size='4' value='<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />' class='form_input_general' />"></Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >
<Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule Schedules="<actinic:variable name="EnabledForCustomerGroupID" />" HTML="<label><span class='actrequired'><actinic:variable name="QuantityPrompt" /></span></label><input type='number' name='Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />' size='4' value='<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />' class='form_input_general' onpaste=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />) onkeyup=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />) onmouseup=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />)/>"></Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UseDynamicPrices%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsHostMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20TRUE%20AND%20%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20FALSE" >
<Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule Schedules="<actinic:variable name="EnabledForCustomerGroupID" />" HTML="<label><span class='actrequired'><actinic:variable name="QuantityPrompt" /></span></label><input type='number' name='Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />' size='4' value='<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />' class='form_input_general' onpaste=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />') onkeyup=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />') onmouseup=QuantityChanged(this, '<actinic:variable name="DynamicPriceCGIURL" />', <actinic:variable name="SectionID" />, '<actinic:variable name="ShopID" />')/>"></Actinic:ShowForPriceSchedule>
</actinic:block>
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>
</actinic:block>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsQuantityPromptHidden%22%20%2f%3e" >
<fieldset class="quantity-box">
<input type="hidden" name="Q_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" value="<actinic:variable name="DefaultQuantity" />" />
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsAddToCartButtonShown%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%20%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22NumberAttributesInPushButtonGrid%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%200%29" >
<p class="cart-button-placement set-right">
<actinic:variable name="AddToCartButton" />
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsOutOfStockShown%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="cart-button-placement set-right">
<strong><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="OutOfStock" /></span></strong>
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsCatalogSuspendedShown%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="cart-button-placement set-right">
<strong><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="CatalogSuspended" /></span></strong>
</p>
</actinic:block>
<actinic:variable name="RealTimeStockDisplay" />
<actinic:variable name="ProductLinks" />
<div id="idVars<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />">
<actinic:variable name="AttributeList" />
<actinic:variable name="ComponentList" />
</div>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22FileURLNotEmpty%22%20%2f%3e" >
<p class="product-text">
<a href="<actinic:variable name="ProductLinkInfo" />">
<actinic:variable name="ProductLinkText" />
</a>
</p>
</actinic:block>

<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsOtherInfoPromptShown%22%20%2f%3e" >
<fieldset class="product-prompt">
<label><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="OtherInfoPrompt" /></span></label>
<input class="input-border" type="text" name="O_<actinic:variable name="ProductID" />" maxlength="1000" value="" />
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>

<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsDatePromptShown%22%20%2f%3e" >
<fieldset class="product-prompt">
<label><span class="actrequired"><actinic:variable name="DatePrompt" /></span></label>
<actinic:variable name="DayList" /><actinic:variable name="MonthList" /><actinic:variable name="YearList" />
</fieldset>
</actinic:block>
<div class="set-below-right">
<actinic:variable name="FeefoProductLogo" />
</div>
<div class="set-below-right feefoTables">
<actinic:variable name="FeefoProductFeedback" />
</div>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22ProductDescriptionLength%22%20%2f%3e%20%3e%200" ><div class="product-text"><actinic:variable formatting="font(Size|16|Color|779ecb)" encoding="actinic" name="ProductDescription" /></div></actinic:block>
<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsProductFormUsed%22%20%2f%3e" >
</form>
</actinic:block>
</actinic:block>

I hope this is ok ?
Kind Regards
Mike

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1237
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Problem!!!

Post by norman » Fri May 27, 2016 12:44 pm

A suitable fix will be to use the Product Description to hold only the Info tab and to use the Extended Info Text to hold the other tabs.

Edit your Product Layout and look for:

Code: Select all

<actinic:variable formatting="font(Size|16|Color|779ecb)" encoding="actinic" name="ProductDescription" />
Immediately after it add (prefix it with a space):

Code: Select all

 <actinic:variable name="ExtendedInfoText" />
You will then have to visit each product and in Product Details / General / Full Description cut the tabs (other than the first one) and paste into the Extended Information pane / Text field. You don't need to enable extended info pages - just putting the text in there will be enough.

Do this on just a single product to see if it's suitable.

I also see you've applied SellerDeck inline styling to your product description so you may want to do the same to the Extended Info Text.

Also visit Settings / Search And Filtering Settings / Options / Indexing Options and decide whether you want the text that's no in Extended Info to be indexed.

If you've thousands of products to do, bribe a neighbours kid.
Norman

Lounge2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 7:03 pm

Re: Problem - solved

Post by Lounge2 » Fri May 27, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi Norman.
Thank you for your help.
Your solution as normal worked perfectly.
A little bit of work with Jans mole mash, and now just 500 product descriptions to copy and paste into extended text.
Thank you again
Mike

Post Reply