NorTree borders corrupted.

Basic cascading menu for Actinic 5 onwards.
Post Reply
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

NorTree borders corrupted.

Post by norman » Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:12 pm

A NorTree user was getting a corrupted display of the borders around the menu cells.

It was found that the following line, right at the top of their Act_Primary was causing this.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
This line isn't part of any Actinic Template and was probably added by a WYSIWYG HTML editor.

Removing it allowed the menu to function properly.

If anyone knows why we'd all love to know.
Norman

dust
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:29 pm
Contact:

Post by dust » Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:36 pm

I have found that it is 4.01 that causes the corrupt borders, lower versions work ok

has anyone solved this one? ive been highly advised to use 4.01

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Tue Jul 18, 2006 5:29 pm

Do you have a link to a page with this problem so I can see it happening (and check that the site has donated).
Norman

dust
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:29 pm
Contact:

Post by dust » Wed Jul 19, 2006 10:27 am

this is what it should look like, it is 3.2 final

http://www.classixshop.com/test/index.php

this is when i declare it 4.01 trans

Image

in firefox it just doesnt load at all...



i am very sure we did donate, this is our old site

Image

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:12 am

I don't know what to suggest. You want to use 4.01 and NorTree (or at least the DHTML part of it - that I didn't write) seems to fail when you do so.

I can see no workaround other than not to make this declaration, or to switch to another Menu (NorCascade or Collapso perhaps).
Norman

dust
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 4:29 pm
Contact:

Post by dust » Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:37 pm

ok thanks anyway, i will take a look at the other menus

Post Reply