Print Problems

Basic cascading menu for Actinic 5 onwards.
Post Reply
aranshearsby
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:02 pm
Contact:

Print Problems

Post by aranshearsby » Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:46 pm

Hi,

We have successfully inserted Nortree into our website and all looks well. However, when any page is either print previewed or printed the Nortree menu appears to have moved over the page and covers text. How can we rectify this problem?

:arrow: Our site is http://www.stuartshearsby.com

Many thanks

Aran

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:32 am

I'm not a DHTML expert so can only suggest what Ger does in his config.html document
TargetLoc
Text string- Enables relative positioning of the menu.
1- In the HTML-file where the menu shows you need a named div:
<div id='MenuPos' style='position:relative'></div>
2- Set TargetLoc to 'MenuPos'
3 - Set MenuCentered to 'left', MenuVerticalCentered to 'top' and StartTop and StartLeft to 0
4 - StartTop, StartLeft and the Menu center variables can still be used to get an offset from the <div>.

Remarks: the different ways browsers interpret the pageX and pageY offset makes this feature difficult. I got the best results by putting the div inside a table, give the div the same dimensions as the first level menu, put an transparent image inside the div with again the same dimensions as the first level menu
<table>
<tr><td>
<div id='MenuPos' style='position:relative; width:102; height:102;'><img src='transparent.gif' width='102' height='102'></div>
</td></tr>
</table>
and change the dimensions to suit your page.
Norman

aranshearsby
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:02 pm
Contact:

Post by aranshearsby » Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:08 pm

Hi Norman,

We have done as you have suggested and the problem still exists.
Our website is based upon the Actinic Smart theme but has only 2 columns. These columns are tables within a table. We tried oversized and undersized images and checked everything is left aligned.

Do you have any more ideas please?

Many thanks

Aran

:arrow: http://www.stuartshearsby.com

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Sat Sep 02, 2006 8:58 am

Afraid not, other than to switch to another manu.

I didn't write the DHTML code that NorTree uses. It came from http://www.burmees.nl/menu/menus.htm, but we're using the commercial freeware version on http://www.dynamicdrive.com.

I notice that it seems to be related to the window size of the Explorer page. If you set the window to just contaion the page width, then the print preview is OK. If you set Explorer full-screen then the menu misalignes.
Norman

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:01 am

A final thought. You might be able to use some PRINT specific CSS to set the page width to a fixed size as this seems to help. You'll have to work this out yourself as I'm not a CSS expert.
Norman

aranshearsby
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:02 pm
Contact:

Post by aranshearsby » Sat Sep 02, 2006 3:32 pm

Hi Norman,

With regards to your last post, setting the window to just contain the page width, we tried it and it worked. With this in mind, could we not use frames and locate the Nortree menu in its own frame?

Many thanks

Aran

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1242
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:17 pm

I'd be very wary of using frames. They're very unfriendly to search engines and also for customers who try to bookmark particular pages.
Norman

Post Reply