Page 1 of 1

lower level navigation

Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:48 pm
by sallydickson
my website has three levels of section, let's call them 1,2,3.

with Norcasade, the menus show up with all three levls, how do I edit the code to show only 2, 3.


Thanks,

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:25 am
by norman
Each top-level Section has it's own set of sub-levels. You seem to be saying you want to merge all the second-level sections into a new list and use that as the start level. I can't think of any way to implement this.

It is possible to do the opposite and limit how deep the menu goes. The MaxDepth parameter does that.

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:15 am
by Sean Delere
Could you not just remove the top level section in Actinic to leave you with the sections you want displayed?

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:41 am
by norman
In case it's of use to others here's what Sally wanted to do.

The shop has 3 main Sections. Each of these leads to what's essentially a different shop. Once in each of these sub-shops it was desirable to have a menu that didn't show the top-level, i.e. it only let you navigate within that "shop".

Use a different Overall Layout for each shop section. These Layout's usually contain the following bit of NorCascade code.

IF USING V8

Code: Select all

<actinic:variable name="JavaScriptArray" value="Name Data From All Sections"/>
<actinic:variable name="JavaScriptArray" value="URL Data From All Sections"/>
IF USING V7

Code: Select all

NETQUOTEVAR:SECTIONTREE_NAMES
NETQUOTEVAR:SECTIONTREE_URLS
For both V7 and V8 immediately after this add

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
section_tree_names = section_tree_names[1].pChild;
section_tree_URLs = section_tree_URLs[1].pChild;
// -->
</script>
Repeat for the other 2 sections but replace the [1] above with [2] and [3].

yes that works

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:34 pm
by sallydickson