Sort Control Customisation- Sorting by Product Reference

Miscellaneous Actinic / SellerDeck patches and anything not covered above.
mirage23

Sort Control Customisation- Sorting by Product Reference

Post by mirage23 »

I would like to customise Sort Control to sort my items in Products & Search by Actinic Product Reference number (in ascending & decending order). Because my site auto-generates the product references they are in ascending order of the date of entry so I was thinking I could use this as a Date-Added sorter.
I understand it envolves editing the sortsupport.js file in site 1 but I'm not too good with Java Script . Any ideas/ code will be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by mirage23 on Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
norman
Site Admin

Re: Sort Control Customisation- Sorting by Product Reference

Post by norman »

There's a ReadMe suppplied with this add-on that talks you through how to do this. Look in your Site folder for file "Sorting Products by a User Variable.txt" and also "Sorting Sections by a Products User Variable.txt". These show you how to add sorting on a variable called Author. To amend this to use the product reference, just follow the ReadMe but replace any occurences of:

Code: Select all

<actinic:variable encoding="html" name="Author" />
with:

<actinic:variable encoding="html" name="ProductReference" />
And also change all "author" for "reference".

You may also want to check that product reference is always ascending. I'm not sure what happens if you delete products, purge and compact the database and then add a new product. There's a possibility that it gets re-allocated an older reference. I don't know if this happens or not, so you'd need to experiment.
Norman
mirage23

Post by mirage23 »

Norman,

I've noticed that my product references are not in exact ascending order, that some more recently added products have been assigned a lower product ref number so I don't think sorting by this method is possible.