Upsell & Dynamic Images

Adding upsell items to a product.
Post Reply
jimbo1702
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:34 pm

Upsell & Dynamic Images

Post by jimbo1702 » Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:14 pm

Just added these to my site at http://www.viteyes.co.uk and they are great.

A couple of problem I woudl like help with. IF you look at the product pages e.g. http://www.viteyes.co.uk/acatalog/Vitey ... anced.html the image at the bottom of the label has been shrunk to the same size as the upsell items 75px. Is there any way to stop this. It has a different layout file.

Also on the swap image page of http://www.viteyes.co.uk/acatalog/Special_Offers.html I have used a scale factor of 999999 as I don't want to see the images, but this throws the alignment of the radio buttoms out, is there a way to remove the images before the radio buttom instead of having to scale them down until they can't be seen.

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:02 am

75Px image problem. Where is this image being generated? Do you have a Custom Product Template with everything except the image commented out? Or is it a Brochure Fragment? The Upsell patch requires you to add a bit of code to the start of every Product Template. Perhaps you're using a custom Product Template where this bit of code hasn't been added.

Alignment problem. There are Custom Properties BUTTONUNDER and TEXTUNDER that change the layout of the generated items. Try combinations of these flags to see if that helps. The DynamicImagesOperation document should help.
Norman

Guest

image problem

Post by Guest » Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:02 am

firts I was using this code:

<!-- Text Only Product HTML begin -->

<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:INCLUDE Act_ProductSeparator.html -->
NETQUOTEVAR:ENDSEPARATOR
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTFORMBEGIN

<tr>
<td colspan="3" valign="top">
<p align="center">NETQUOTEVAR:TEMPLATEBEGINXML
<a name="NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTANCHOR"><span class="actregular"></span></a>
<br><span class="actxsmall">NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION<br>
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTIMAGE</span><BR><BR><BR><BR>
NETQUOTEVAR:TEMPLATEENDXML
</td>
</tr>
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTFORMEND
NETQUOTEVAR:NEXT

<!-- Unused Netquotevars -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTREF -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTNAME -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRICEEXPLANATION-->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTPRICE-->
<!--<Actinic:ACTIONS>NETQUOTEVAR:ADDTOCARTBUTTON</Actinic:ACTIONS>-->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTBEGINLINKNETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTLINKTEXTNETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTENDLINK -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:EXTINFOLINKNETQUOTEVAR:EXTINFOBUTTON-->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:OTHERINFOPROMPT -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:DATEPROMPT -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:CARTERRORXML -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTQUANTITY<br> -->


<!-- Text Only Product HTML end -->

SO I have added upsell code so it now reads:
<!-- Text Only Product HTML begin -->

<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:INCLUDE Act_ProductSeparator.html -->
NETQUOTEVAR:ENDSEPARATOR
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTFORMBEGIN

<script language=JavaScript>
<!--
startupsellmain()
var upsellimagewidth = CUSTOMVAR:UPSELLIMAGEWIDTH;
var upsellimagemaxheight = CUSTOMVAR:UPSELLIMAGEMAXHEIGHT;
// -->
</script>

<tr>
<td colspan="3" valign="top">
<p align="center">NETQUOTEVAR:TEMPLATEBEGINXML
<a name="NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTANCHOR"><span class="actregular"></span></a>
<br><span class="actxsmall">NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTDESCRIPTION<br>
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTIMAGE</span><BR><BR><BR><BR>
NETQUOTEVAR:TEMPLATEENDXML
</td>
</tr>
NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTFORMEND
NETQUOTEVAR:NEXT

<!-- Unused Netquotevars -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTREF -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTNAME -->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRICEEXPLANATION-->
<!-- NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTPRICE-->
<!--<Actinic:ACTIONS>NETQUOTEVAR:ADDTOCARTBUTTON</Actinic:ACTIONS>-->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTBEGINLINKNETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTLINKTEXTNETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTENDLINK -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:EXTINFOLINKNETQUOTEVAR:EXTINFOBUTTON-->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:OTHERINFOPROMPT -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:DATEPROMPT -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:CARTERRORXML -->
<!--NETQUOTEVAR:PRODUCTQUANTITY<br> -->


<!-- Text Only Product HTML end -->

The 1st one give the correct page layout but the image is smaller. The second give the correct image size again but the page layout goes wrong.

norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1238
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman » Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:30 pm

Nearly there. You've got the wrong bit of code at the top of your image only Template. This is a "Normal" Actinic Product Template (albeit heavily modified). It should be the fragment

Code: Select all

<!-- UPSELL SUPPORT START -->
<script language=JavaScript>
<!--
startnormal()
// -->
</script>
<!-- UPSELL SUPPORT END -->
And it should go near the top - just below

Code: Select all

<!-- Text Only Product HTML begin -->
Norman

Post Reply