Fragments in columns

Miscellaneous Actinic / SellerDeck patches and anything not covered above.
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Fragments in columns

Post by Bunfly »

Hi Norman,

Ended up finding your message board via the Actinic site.

Was just wondering if the code you have written would allow me to split up fragments into coloumns so I could acheive a similar result to a site I have running at the moment (not Actinic) at http://www.ecclestonanglingcentre.co.uk Under the 'Free Delivery' banner

I'd like to place a number of add images with links to procuts inside my catalogue.

Would this be possible?

Regards

Bun
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

It depends where these Fragments are.

If they're on Brochure pages then I've not done a V7 patch for that. I have a V6 one but it may not work on V7. I could write one, but not in advance of any donations.

If they're on Product pages then my Multi Column Product patch will work as it handles fragments there too.

An alternative is to embed your own HTML, containing a table of items, into a fragment text using the !!< and >!! wrapper so that Actinic knows this is HTML.
Norman
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

Thank you for the reply.

From my understanding (and you'll have to excuse my ignorance on this matter as I've only recently started to use Actinic) I think it is on a brochure page as it's the home page of the site. Yes, your right.....it's a fragment conected to the home brochure page.

Hopefully Actinic will include this function in their next release?

"I could write one, but not in advance of any donations"

Just out of interest what £ would we be talking about? If you could PM me that would be fine

Thanks for your help and patience Norman. It's very much appreciated

Bun
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Donations seem to average £25 so twice that would be enough.

Also if you want exactly a 3 column layout and don't intend to move the items around much, there may be an alternative solution where you lay each fragment out using a set of 3 Templates (left, middle and right). These would contain the HTML needed for the 3 cells per row.

Make 3 Fragment Templates from the following and use them in sequence.

Code: Select all

<!-- LEFT-ImageAndTitle HTML begin -->
<tr>
<td valign="top">
NETQUOTEVAR:FRAGMENTANCHOR
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="1">
  <tr>
    <td width="100%"><h3>NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TITLE</h3></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="100%" align="center">NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_IMAGE</td>
  </tr>
</table>
</td>
<!-- LEFT-ImageAndTitle HTML end -->



<!-- MIDDLE-ImageAndTitle HTML begin -->
<td valign="top">
NETQUOTEVAR:FRAGMENTANCHOR
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="1">
  <tr>
    <td width="100%"><h3>NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TITLE</h3></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="100%" align="center">NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_IMAGE</td>
  </tr>
</table>
</td>
<!-- MIDDLE-ImageAndTitle HTML end -->



<!-- RIGHT-ImageAndTitle HTML begin -->
<td valign="top">
NETQUOTEVAR:FRAGMENTANCHOR
<table border="0" width="100%" cellspacing="5" cellpadding="1">
  <tr>
    <td width="100%"><h3>NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TITLE</h3></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td width="100%" align="center">NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_IMAGE</td>
  </tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
<!-- RIGHT-ImageAndTitle HTML end -->
It would be a good idea to have an exact multiple of 3 items so the last row is complete.

Before and after this you could still use full width Fragments using the standard Actinic Templates.
Norman
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

Thank you Norman

I'll give the three fragment templates a go.......though like I mentioned earlier my knowledge of Actinic and code layout is very limited at the moment.

Thank you for your time and patience

Bun
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

Hi Norman,

Thanks very much......that seems to be working fine. I've made three templates Left, Middle and Right....used them in sequence as you suggested.....bingo!! Just what I'm after.

Is there a way to remove the titles from each of these as I'd prefer it if they were not there. At the moment I'm using the 'space bar' as titles 1 hit on the space bar for Left, 2 hits on the space bar for Middle......etc

Thank you very much indeed

Bun
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Let me know how you get on. Post an URL so I can see it in operation if you have some live pages.

I just knocked up those 3 templates for you and haven't tested the code in any way. However I expect it will work as I can see no obvious errors.

The example above is for an Image and Title only. If you want to display fragment description text, you'll have to add in NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TEXT somewhere inside the inner table (on all 3 Templates).
Norman
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Oops. Overlapped message. If you want the Image only, simply remove the chunk

Code: Select all

  <tr> 
    <td width="100%"><h3>NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TITLE</h3></td> 
  </tr>
from each template.
Norman
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

To make using these templates easier, you can edit BrochureTemplates.ini (in Site1) and add lines (after the [Templates] line) like


Brochure-left-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Left Image Only
Brochure-middle-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Middle Image Only
Brochure-right-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Right Image Only

and these informative names (RHS) will now appear in the drop-down list of Fragment Templates. You'll have to change the LHS filenames to match the ones you actually use.
Norman
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

norman wrote:Oops. Overlapped message. If you want the Image only, simply remove the chunk

Code: Select all

  <tr> 
    <td width="100%"><h3>NETQUOTEVAR:BROCHURE_TITLE</h3></td> 
  </tr>
from each template.
Yes.....that worked fine. Thank you
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

norman wrote:Let me know how you get on. Post an URL so I can see it in operation if you have some live pages.
I'm afriad I don't have it live at the moment. I'm intending to replace the site I have at the moment http://www.ecclestonanglingcentre.co.uk which I put together with a pogram called ShopFactory with the Actinic one I'm doing now.
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

norman wrote:To make using these templates easier, you can edit BrochureTemplates.ini (in Site1) and add lines (after the [Templates] line) like


Brochure-left-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Left Image Only
Brochure-middle-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Middle Image Only
Brochure-right-ImageOnly.html=3 Columns Right Image Only

and these informative names (RHS) will now appear in the drop-down list of Fragment Templates. You'll have to change the LHS filenames to match the ones you actually use.
Oh my word!! I feel like an expert now :D

I don't know what to say except thank you kindly

I don't know if you like fishing Norman......but if ever you are in need of a few bits and bobs you certainly know where to come

Bun
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

I'm not a fisherman but those Ron Thompson Thermal Boots size 10 would sure be useful :wink:
Norman
Bunfly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 1:04 pm

Post by Bunfly »

norman wrote:I'm not a fisherman but those Ron Thompson Thermal Boots size 10 would sure be useful :wink:
LOL!!

PM me with an address and your on :wink:

Bun
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

I'm Norman Rouxel and the address is on http://www.drillpine.biz
Norman
Post Reply