placing nortree menu into a table

Basic cascading menu for Actinic 5 onwards.
Post Reply
aranshearsby
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:02 pm
Contact:

placing nortree menu into a table

Post by aranshearsby »

Hi,

We have just inserted a nortree menu into our new actinic site and would like to know how to place the new menu in a table. We are currently using the Smart template and want to insert it into the left column. Any Suggestions would be appreciated.

In addition how do we go about making a donation for the use of nortree and of what value should it be?


Thanks

Aran
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Hi,

NorTree menus "float" on top of the existing page. This means that you can position them relative to the top and left (or the centre) of the page.

If you want them to be positioned relative to a particular item on the page you can do this via putting something into the TargetLoc parameter. Basically this is then used as the ID you give to an existing page entity (like a <div>...</div> tag).

This is documented in config.htm that is installed into C:\Program Files\Nortree. Here's the relevant bit
TargetLoc
Text string- Enables relative positioning of the menu.
1- In the HTML-file where the menu shows you need a named div:
<div id='MenuPos' style='position:relative'></div>
2- Set TargetLoc to 'MenuPos'
3 - Set MenuCentered to 'left', MenuVerticalCentered to 'top' and StartTop and StartLeft to 0
4 - StartTop, StartLeft and the Menu center variables can still be used to get an offset from the <div>.

Remarks: the different ways browsers interpret the pageX and pageY offset makes this feature difficult. I got the best results by putting the div inside a table, give the div the same dimensions as the first level menu, put an transparent image inside the div with again the same dimensions as the first level menu
<table>
<tr><td>
<div id='MenuPos' style='position:relative; width:102; height:102;'><img src='transparent.gif' width='102' height='102'></div>
</td></tr>
</table>
Re donations: you can donate via paypal to the email address "rouxel AT drillpine DOT biz" - slightly obfuscated to deny spambots. Donations seem to be around £25. Or by sending something to the address on http://www.drillpine.biz homepage.
Norman
aranshearsby
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:02 pm
Contact:

Post by aranshearsby »

Hi norman,

Thank you for the reply. We have positioned the menu within a table but all the menu links point to:

http://www.stuartshearsby.com/Act_Previ ... N=SHOWCART

We looked in act_section_tree_url.js and all the links point in the same direction. Do we have to manually put the links in or can we import them from another file.

Many thanks

Aran
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

That's the expected behaviour if you are doing a local PC preview. You see the menu but the links go to an error message page.

These links will only work properly on a live server based pages.

This is exactly the same behaviour as using the Actinic YahooSections code that's used on many themes to display a two-level text menu on each page.

Are you getting this error from a server based site, or from the Preview?


********************

UPDATE

I see the error on your live site. This shouldn't happen. It looks like you've used the bit of code that's meant for Act_Brochure_Primary.html in your Act_Primary.html.

Edit Act_Primary.html and use this lump of code

Code: Select all

<!-- START NorTree Act_Primary.html patch -->
<!--   start of optional speed up fragment - redefining actiniccore.js's CreateArray to skip creating unused entries -->
<script type='text/javascript'>           
function CreateArray(v11)
	{
	this.length = v11;
	for (var i=1; i <= v11; i++) this[i] = new Object();
	return this;
	}
</script>
<!--   end of optional speed up fragment -->
<script language=JavaScript>var LoggedIn = true;</script>
<Actinic:NOTINB2B>
<script language=JavaScript>var LoggedIn = false;</script>
</Actinic:NOTINB2B>
NETQUOTEVAR:SECTIONTREE_NAMES
NETQUOTEVAR:SECTIONTREE_URLS
<script type='text/javascript'>
//HV Menu- by Ger Versluis (http://www.burmees.nl/)
//Submitted to Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
//Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com for this script and more
// Norman Rouxel ( http://www.drillpine.biz (V11) ) amended to work with Actinic netquotevar based section structure 
function Go(){return}
</script>	
<script type="text/javascript" src="nortree_menu_var.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="nortree_menu_create.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="nortree_menu_com.js"></script>
<noscript>NorTree (V11) requires JavaScript</noscript>
<!-- END NorTree Act_Primary.html patch -->
Norman
Post Reply