Starting Menu with a single item - V1.06 and later.

Search engine friendly UL list type menu for Actinic V8 and V9. Styled by CSS and animated by a small JavaScript.
Post Reply
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Starting Menu with a single item - V1.06 and later.

Post by norman »

If you want the menu to start with a single non-Actinic item (so it can be fitted into a horizontal navigation bar perhaps), then the following allows this.

In Actinic go to Design / Library / Layouts / NorList Menu / NorList Dynamic Menu Code.

Look for first occurrence of the line:

Code: Select all

<ul class="menulist" id="listMenuRoot">
Append the following just below it:

Code: Select all

<li><a href="#">Wowza</a><ul>
Change the Wowza to whatever you need.

Look for the line:

Code: Select all

<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="listmenuactivate.js"></script>
Insert the following just above it:

Code: Select all

</li></ul>
If you can see the line:

Code: Select all

<!-- start the list items -->
Delete it.

If you can see the line:

Code: Select all

<!-- finish the list -->
Delete it.


That's it.
Norman
Bloke
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:05 pm

Re: Starting Menu with a single item - V1.06 and later.

Post by Bloke »

Hiya

This works a treat in IE8 but the subsections wont open in Firefox3.5.3

Is there a known fix for this?

After a while trying to fix it I re installed Norlist by importing the acd file again and the subsections open ok, then after applying this fix next it stops opening in Firefox

I havent uploaded a test site yet, hopefulli wont need to if there is a known fix for this

Cheers guys

B
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Starting Menu with a single item - V1.06 and later.

Post by norman »

A weird bug.

The HTML comments <!-- start the list items --> and <!-- finish the list --> seem to be interfering with things.

Delete them and all will be well.

I've amended my post above to include this.
Norman
Bloke
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:05 pm

Re: Starting Menu with a single item - V1.06 and later.

Post by Bloke »

Fantastic! worked a treat, thanks Norman :-)
Post Reply