NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Search engine friendly UL list type menu for Actinic V8 and V9. Styled by CSS and animated by a small JavaScript.
Post Reply
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Post by norman »

If you want to omit a single top-level Section from the menu, do the following:
Go to Design / Library / Layouts / NorList Menu / NorList Dynamic Menu Code.
Look for the long line (around line 27):

Code: Select all

	<li><a href='<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsLoginPageSuppressed%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UnregCustomersAreNotAllowed%22%20%2f%3e" ><actinic:variable name="SectionPageName" /></actinic:block><actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsLoginPageSuppressed%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20false%29%20OR%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UnregCustomersAreNotAllowed%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20false%29" ><actinic:variable name="SectionURL" /></actinic:block>'><Actinic:Variable Name="SectionName"></a><actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22NorListDepth%22%20%2f%3e%20%3e%201"><actinic:variable name="NorListSubSection" value="NorList Sub Section 1" /></actinic:block></li>
Put around it a Condition like (we're omitting Section "Photo Frames"):

Code: Select all

<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22SectionName%22%20%2f%3e%20%21%3d%20%22Photo%20Frames%22">
EXISTING LINE
</actinic:block>
Adjust the "Photo Frames" bit to suit.
Norman
CurlyTail
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Post by CurlyTail »

Hi there!

Is this still current and applicable? I used this to hide a top-level section and that part worked superbly. However none of the menu sections dropped down or were accessible. I am assuming as this post was 2004 that things have moved on and norlist is no longer behaving this way.

CurlyTail
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Post by norman »

I've no way of telling without a link to a faulty page.
Norman
CurlyTail
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Post by CurlyTail »

Hi Norman,

Here is out live site which you will see has all menu features working:
http://beamingbaby.co.uk/
And the site we use for development:
http://beamingbeauty.co.uk/
You will see that this site has the code installed but the menu heading will not drop down.

Below is the code.

Code: Select all

<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22SectionName%22%20%2f%3e%20%21%3d%20%22Special%20Offers%22">
<li><a href='<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsLoginPageSuppressed%22%20%2f%3e%20AND%0d%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UnregCustomersAreNotAllowed%22%20%2f%3e" ><actinic:variable name="SectionPageName" /></actinic:block><actinic:block if="%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsLoginPageSuppressed%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20false%29%20OR%0d%28%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22UnregCustomersAreNotAllowed%22%20%2f%3e%20%3d%3d%20false%29" ><actinic:variable name="SectionURL" /></actinic:block>'><Actinic:Variable Name="SectionName"></a></actinic:block></actinic:block>
<!-- finish the list -->
</li>
</actinic:block>
Hope this helps.

Grant
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: NorList V3 - Omit a top-level Section

Post by norman »

You've deleted some necessary code I think.

Best restore and try again.

The original post works here when I try it.
Norman
Post Reply