Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Adds a Lightbox slideshow to your products.
Post Reply
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

It is possible to use Greybox (http://orangoo.com/labs/GreyBox/) instead of the Slimbox variant of Lightbox.

Install LightBox/Slimbox as usual. Test that it's working.

Then get the Greybox files from the above URL and unzip the files from the greybox sub-folder of the installation archive into your Site, DesignPreviewHTML and PreviewHTML folders. These are the only files you need.

Edit your overall layout and replace the lines

Code: Select all

	<script type="text/javascript" src="mootools.v1.11.js"></script>
	<script type="text/javascript" src="slimbox.js"></script>
	<link rel="stylesheet" href="slimbox.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />	
with

Code: Select all

	<script type="text/javascript">
		var GB_ROOT_DIR = "<actinic:block if="%3cactinic%3avariable%20name%3d%22IsPreviewMode%22%20%2f%3e" >.</actinic:block>./";
	</script>
	<script type="text/javascript" src="AJS.js"></script>
	<script type="text/javascript" src="AJS_fx.js"></script>
	<script type="text/javascript" src="gb_scripts.js"></script>
	<link href="gb_styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" />
	<!-- Actinic specific fixes -->
	<script type="text/javascript>
	function afterpageload(){
	<actinic:variable name="OnLoadScript" value="PreloadImages" />
	</script>
	<script type="text/javascript">AJS.AEV(window, 'load', function() {afterpageload()});</script>
Also replace the line

Code: Select all

<body onload="<actinic:variable value="PreloadImages" name="OnLoadScript" />">
with

Code: Select all

<body>
Go to Design / Library / Layouts / Lightbox Images and edit layouts Lightbox Image List and Fragment Lightbox Image List and change the fragment (about line 92 - don't alter the rest of the line)

rel=\"lightbox[$ProductAnchor]\"

to

rel=\"gb_imageset[$ProductAnchor]\"

Finally, go to Design / Additional file and add the file "loader_frame.html".

Note that Lightbox/Slimboxis the supported add-on and that I cannot provide the same level of support for Greybox.
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

Hi Norman
I know you don't support Greybox, but i am stuck on how to get greybox to start using a link, like you have on slimbox http://drillpine.biz/forums/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=387

Thanks

Elliott
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

If you're using a recent version of Lightbox it actually uses the jQuery Slimbox2. It's been supplied like this for the last 6 months.

You can add a start button via post viewtopic.php?f=17&t=458
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

Does this work using Greybox?
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

Can you elaborate?
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

I am trying to get greybox to open using a link or a image
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

What version of Greybox? It's in the name of the installation Zipfile.
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

It is the same of installation Zipfile greybox5.5.3
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

I have no add-ons with that version number.

Please tell me (in more than a handful of words) what you're actually using.

As I said earlier the full name of your installation Zipfile will help.

If you're not using one of my add-ons I cannot help here.
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

I have your add-on slimbox but then I changed it to Greybox as per to you forum. I know you don't support greybox but I thought you might know how to start it with a link or image.

I am using GreyBox5.5.3RequiredFiles.zip
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by norman »

I don't use or have the Greybox variant installed here.

I don't know how to do this.

If you want to work on this yourself, see http://orangoo.com/labs/greybox/advance_usage.html and look for "GB_showImageSet". You could create the image set JavaScript by modifying the code in layout Lightbox Image List. Significant programming skills required.

Another way to build the image set structure would be to use the code on http://drillpine.biz/forums/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=387 for guidance and modify to work as per the orangoo link above. Again, significant programming skills required.
Norman
elliott
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:14 pm

Re: Using Greybox instead of Slimbox

Post by elliott »

Thanks for your help. I will have a play.
Post Reply