Starting Menu with a single item - V1.05 and earlier.

Search engine friendly UL list type menu for Actinic V8 and V9. Styled by CSS and animated by a small JavaScript.
Post Reply
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Starting Menu with a single item - V1.05 and earlier.

Post by norman »

NOTE: THIS PATCH IS FOR NORLIST V1.05 AND EARLIER. See elsewhere for later version.

If you want the menu to start with a single non-Actinic item (so it can be fitted into a horizontal navigation bar perhaps), then the following allows this.

In Actinic go to Design / Library / Layouts / NorList Menu / NorList Dynamic Menu Code / Edit List Layout Settings

Amend the Start of List to be

Code: Select all

<actinic:block php="true">$lastlevel = 1;$inlist=false;</actinic:block>
<ul class="menulist" id="listMenuRoot">
<li><a href="#">Wowza</a>
<ul>
Amend the End of List to be

Code: Select all

</li>
<actinic:block php="true">
   while ( $thislevel-- > 1 ) echo '</ul></li>';
</actinic:block>
</ul>
</li>
</ul>
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript" src="listmenuactivate.js"></script>
Norman
Johno
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:11 pm

listing brochure pages

Post by Johno »

Hi Norman,

Thankyou for the code which was really easy to install and works a treat.

Could you tell me if I can change it so that I can list my brochure pages in the same way.

Many thanks
John
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Yes. That's in the ReadMe but I may not have made it too clear. Here's what to do amended a bit for clarity.


Select the "Home" icon in the content tree.

1) Then select the Design tab then the Design Tree (right hand bottom of Actinic window).
Select your overall layout - this will be the top item in the Design Tree
(e.g Works Best with Executive Brochure Pages on default installation).
Look in the Layout Code window for the </head> line and immediately above insert the line

<actinic:variable name="NorList Support" />

or right-click within your design and choose Insert Layout and select NorList Support.


2) In the Layout Code window, where you want the menu to appear, insert

<actinic:variable name="NorList Dynamic Menu" />

or right-click within your design and choose Insert Layout and select NorList Dynamic Menu

The menu should now appear.
If you see an error message simply switch to Content View and it will clear.
Norman
Johno
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:11 pm

Post by Johno »

Norman thats exactly what I've done but its listing all of the catalog sections rather than the brochure pages. Any ideas?
norman
Site Admin
Posts: 1252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:55 pm

Post by norman »

Ah. That's what it's meant to do.

There's no mechanism in Actinic for listing the Brochure pages. They're only a single-level list. You can't have a sub-page structure there.
Norman
Post Reply